Episode Guide

  Cagney & Lacey is an Emmy-award winning show which ran from 1982-1988.  

  In 1994-6 four made-for-TV follow-up movies, Cagney & Lacey:  The Menopause Years were made: 

  They were released on DVD in the USA in fall 2009.

Cagney & Lacey, and Cagney & Lacey: The Menopause Years stars the multi-award-winning Sharon Gless and Tyne Daly.

Read a summary of characters and season-by-season synopses of the episodes of the original show and the TV movies, or download the All Episodes Bibles in pdf format. You can use the links at the bottom of the web pages to navigate between them.

Season 2 ("The True Beginning") is available on DVD.  

All series are available for viewing online at tv.com (in the US), and through iTunes and Amazon in various countries - please check the relevant store in your country.


Season 1 (1982) 

Season 2 (1982-3) 

Season 3 (Spring 1984)

Season 4 (1984-5)

Season 5 (1985-6)

Season 6 (1986-7)

Season 7 (1987-8)

The Menopause Years (1994-6)

All Episodes Bibles

Note from Barney Rosenzweig 

The Cagney & Lacey “bible” was, for the most part, written by others. Contributing writers were from our various staffs, assistants and associate producers who could all claim some of its authorship. For the most part, it was used during the time of our being in production, as a tool for free lance writers … so as to familiarize these professionals with important background information with which they might not otherwise be familiar.

It is pretty straight forward material and there are no scores here for style points. 

A side note with respect to individual episodes herein synopsized, these are not necessarily listed in the order they were filmed or exhibited, but rather (in some cases) in the order the scripts were commissioned.